Wading boots

radamo_pgh

Reaction score
I’m just beginning and ordered a pair of waders, do I need wading boots or can I get away with a pair of hiking boots initially.

thanks

jayr

Reaction score
You will probably trash your hiking boots not to mention the soles might not be the best for wading. In short, I would not use them. The water will really mess them up if they are leather. Now if your hiking boots are pretty much toast anyway, go ahead but good wading boots are worth every penny.

jayr

Reaction score
I have owned/used several wading boots over the years. Korkers, Simms, Frog Togs, Chota and an old pair of Red Balls. One thing I have learned is to buy the best you can afford, otherwise you will be buying multiple pairs to finally have a decent long lasting pair of boots. If you fish quite a bit, your feet and in the end your pocketbook will appreciate that.

Now, pretty much everyone has their favorite maker and multiple responses will give you multiple suggestions. For me, I have found Simms to last as long as most if not longer. But that's just me. Another thing to consider is how much walking outside of fishing you will be doing. Are you walking/hiking a long way in to fish? That makes a difference as well. I cannot speak for lugged soles, all my boots are felt which works best where I primarily fish and the states I fish in have no felt restrictions.

RMflyguy

Reaction score
I’m a fan of Simms Flyweight Boots with Vibram sole. Good ankle protection which is important to me and I‘m a fan of keeping things light as I like to hike in and explore. Like jayr, I recommend purchasing the best you can afford. I also make an effort to rinse and thoroughly dry my boots after each use to maximize their useful life.

Lamarsh

Reaction score