Who is the authority you trust for learning the fly casting fundamentals?

joeriver

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm a complete noob. Barely have gotten my fly wet. But I want to be sure that I start off with good solid fundamentals in fly casting that will last me a lifetime. I realize that nothing can beat in-person lessons, but it's rather difficult right now to get those. I've been scatter-shotting YouTube how-tos, but different voices seem to emphasize different things, and it's a bit confusing.

So my question is: Who is the ONE voice you feel would be the authority on the technical aspects of the fly cast (and all things involved)? It would be a bonus if this voice had video tutorials online, and if you could vaguely direct me to where I might find them.

Thanks.

Bent Undergrowth

Reaction score
My own... seriously, I think everyone has slightly different body mechanics, arm length, height, strength, flexibility, etc. These all play a role in dictating your optimal casting form and cadence. This is probably why you hear so many different voices.

That being said, check out videos from Pete Kutzer at Orvis. You can tell that he teaches a lot of people to cast by the way he communicates. Very clear and simple.

Also, don't expect to be throwing hero casts any time soon. Take your time, throw 20, then 30, 40 ft of line consistently before you start trying to throw bombs. Watch your backcast, keep your elbow close and relaxed (to start), and accept that you are going to have bad days. Even the best casters I know get caught in trees. All it takes is a surprise gust of wind.

Good luck.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

Reaction score
If you ever have the opportunity to see Gary Borger in person, do it. He is excellent. Does not over complicate. Just teaches how to execute and master the basic casting stroke. I don’t know if he any videos out. You could do a google search.

mike_r

Reaction score