Looking for a kayak

bpeterson

Reaction score
I am looking to buy a kayak for fly fishing for reds and specks in south LA. I am graduating high school this may and will be going to college next year so I won't be able to go out on the boat anymore and have limited space for storage.
I will be using it in relatively calm waters, mainly marshes and shoreline on lakes. Anyone have any suggestions on some kayaks?

I have never fished out of a kayak so I have no experience on the matter so any help is appreciated!

mylobass

Reaction score
So much has changed since I bought mine. New seats that put you higher for more comfort. If I was to do it over with what is available now, with storage a primary concern I'd get the Malibu Mini-X. Perhaps a paddleboard would be easy to store even though they are lengthy too. Whatever you get dont over customize it, the less you attach to it the less your fly line will tangle on to.

osok

Reaction score
I fish the marshes on the Texas upper and mid coast from a kayak. I started five years ago with a Ocean Kayak Trident 13 and a couple of years later went to a Wilderness Systems Tarpon 16. Nothing specific wrong with Trident except I wanted a faster yak. The Trident is 31" wide and the Tarpon 28". Does not sound like much but it does make a big difference in speed. Possibly the hull design may make a difference. Width between my two yak's means the Trident is more stable, but that really only makes a difference to me when just learning to yak. After a turtle or two you learn what center of gravity means.:D In open water with winds both are stable but the Tarpon slices the waves better to maintain speed.

The Trident 13 length is better suited for the marshes, as I sometimes need to back out a ways before I can turn around. 2-3 feet can be huge far back in the marsh trying to get to a back lake. You will be going where no one but an air boat can go.