Kayak and a dog

casjoker

Reaction score
I am pretty sure through research I have answered my question but wanted to double check I didn't miss any options.

I want a kayak or canoe (my guess is it will have to be a canoe) that I can use to fish rivers like the Caney Fork, Clinch, South Holston or Watauga that can handle myself and an 85lbs Chesapeake Bay Retriever. Possibly for some double duty duck hunting in flooded timber. I have looked at the Old Town Predator XL and the bigger 2 people Jackson. I would also like to put a trolling motor on it.

As cool as the kayaks are I think I may have to stick with a 14' canoe because of the higher sides although stability seems better in the kayaks vs canoe because of the hull design.

I have lots of experience fly fishing and hunting out of multiple canoes, zero in a kayak.

karstopo

Reaction score
The WS Commander might be perfect for what you are looking for. I have the 14' model but I don't think Wildy makes the 14' one anymore. They still make the 12' version. I stand and fly cast pretty much all the time I'm in it. I paddle standing up much of the time as well. It's like standing on the shore it's so stable. Your feet are actually below the water line and that's one reason for the extra stability.

I used to put my son in it and he weighed more than your dog. Seems like the load out was 450 or 475 pounds. It has slightly higher sides than a WS Tarpon and with the lack of a raised deck like a Sit on top design, there is plenty of cockpit to stash guns, blind materials, decoys, etc. I took mine duck hunting and its great for that. What it has over a Canoe is stability and performance in windy conditions.

I don't have any idea about a troll motor.