New member from Ontario

Swish

Reaction score
Hey guys,
Been lurking for a while and decided to join this community. Just like others I’m a member on a few other forums and debated whether to join another. Here I am!
Some history
I’m 46, live in SW Ontario on the shore of Lake Huron,I started fly fishing when I was 19, fished the Grand for browns quite a bit and some local rivers,and lakes in the north for -+5 lb brook trout.
Moved to Vancouver,never did any salmon fishing but lots of mountain lakes and streams for cut throats and bows.
Moved back to Ontario and with 2 younger kids kinda stopped fly fishing. Took the kids out lots for pan fish and whatever would bite.
I have been fishing on Lake Huron for the last 12 years,taking the kids out when ever they wanted. They are now 20;18 and 16. Boy in the middle.
We volunteer quite a bit at the local hatchery,raising bows and browns.
Not sure what happened to me about a month ago but the flies have bitten me again and rekindled the flame!!
So here I am, I have bought some breathable waders,what a dream compared to my duck hunting neoprene waders. Went through my gear,pulled my rods out of their tubes and put them together. It all came back, lots of memories of fish lost and landed.
Sorry for the babble, I usually don’t say much,
Tight lines and maybe get a chance to hook up with some of yous.
Dave

spm

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum, Dave. Great introduction. Looking forward to reading about your fishing adventures.

steve

huronfly

Reaction score
Welcome Dave, I am also from Kincardine. You likely know my wife Rachel from working at the hatchery, and maybe even myself. Does your last name begin with Char by any chance? :D Such a small world...

I fish locally for resident trout and pike quite a bit, pier casting in town, and mainly spey fish for the steelhead, except for our little river in the spring I like to fish nymphs. What species/techniques are you looking to get back into?

Last edited:

Swish