Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  36
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Completely new to fishing

We got a cabin in Cedar Run, PA and from what I understand it's some of the best fly fishing in the east. I love being out there, tried once with nothing close to a hit.
    I know it's a bit tougher this time year and I know the trout are in deeper waters. Question how do I do I get the fly to sink? And what should I be using?
    Also since I know nothing, what would be the best book for a complete beginner? I don't even know anybody that fly fishes so I'm in the dark here.

2. Likes hairwing530 liked this post

Default Re: Completely new to fishing

Welcome aboard Cedarrun, Make sure you get a license and understand the regulations before you go out.

For a good primer on fly fishing visit the Orvis Learning Center lots of good tips and videos.

How To Fly Fish For Trout, Bass & More | Learn Fly Fishing With Orvis

Also stick around ask questions use the search function to find topics that may have been discussed before.

In the spring many fly shops (including Orvis if it is in your area) and fly fishing clubs offer free lessons on casting, teach knots and the basics.

If you can afford it I strongly recommend seeking out certified casting instructor or a guide to help you learn the proper way to cast, that will move you light years ahead of learning on your own. There are 27 registered with Fly Fishers International in PA.

https://flyfishersinternational.org/...ng-Instructors

Most of all have fun!

Tim C.

For books

Curtis Creek Manifesto
    LL Bean Fly fishing handbook
    Orvis Guide to beginning fly fishing

Many others

Don't forget to search Vimeo and youtube for videos.

Regards,

Tim C.

5. Likes hairwing530, dennyk liked this post
    Blog Entries