Saying HI

CoS FlyGuy

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I've been browsing for a bit...but figured I'd finally take the plunge and start contributing my own thoughts and questions.

I started fly fishing a little over a year ago. Largely self taught through youtube videos and trial and error. It took me 4-5 months to get my first trout in the net, but the sport really started clicking for me earlier this year...pretty shortly after I decided to start tying my own flies and digging into entomology a bit.

I'm based out of Colorado Springs, so the South Platte is my home river. 11 Mile is 45 minutes from my front door, so that's where we go for the quick fishing. If it's a week day afternoon I'll go throw a San Juan worm in No Name Creek, there's some solid fishing in that creek too.

Mostly nymph because that's what it calls for on the South Platte, but I love dries and as soon as I see a surface feeder I throw on a BWO or a PMD.

Slowly branching out to the Arkansas over by Salida and up through Leadville and am looking at fishing the Gunnison some later this summer as well.

Would love to eventually make it out to Lee's Ferry and do some fishing up in the Tetons.

Last edited by a moderator:

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum,

I lived in the Springs for quite awhile, one thing I never did was tell anyone about the creek you named. Don't be offended but I removed the creek name. I've been fishing for quite a while and one thing I'll share with anyone just starting out is do not, I mean do not tell everyone when you find good fishing somewhere that everyone seems to overlook. I have seen some incredible spots ruined because of loose lips. You find something good keep it to yourself, others will stumble in sooner or later but why advertise?

That advice could be more valuable to you in the long run than this years Gear Review issue of Fly Fisherman Magazine :)

Ard

spm

Reaction score