Novice from STL

kevthebassman

Reaction score
Hello to all and thank you for such a wonderful site, a true wealth of information.

A little bit about me:

I'm a 24 year old father and husband, born and raised just outside St. Louis County, MO. I got big into bass fishing in my teens, had a boat and more rods, reels, and tackle than I needed by the time I was 18. I still have the rods and reels, and the passion to fish, but the boat had to go.

When I sold the boat, it wasn't a big loss, as I had already discovered wading smaller rivers for smallmouth, usually the Meramec up around Cuba/Steelville area. While doing that, I've caught a very few trout, a couple as long as my arm, on 6 or 8 pound line with 1/4 oz mepp's spinners, which got me interested in doing some more trout fishing.

As the topic says, I'm a complete novice at fly fishing, but I am passionate about fishing in general and quite the fisherman when it comes to spinning and baitcasting tackle. I'm an expert, just ask me! :D

Fly fishing is my new thing, I have yet to even make a successful fly cast. I've got an acquaintance who is a pretty accomplished fly fisher, and I hope to get some instruction from him, and from the local shop.

I looked into the Ozark fly fishing classes, as they are held close to where I live, but unfortunately I work second shift, and the classes are held in the evenings on the weeknights. I would welcome the chance to work with anyone local to me on casting, fly selection and tying, and the overall basics of the sport.

cattech89

Reaction score
Welcome Kev,
Youve come to the right place to cut your fly fishing teeth. Happy to have you join the community and I look forward to hearing about your progression as a fly fisherman.

jpbfly

Super Moderator
Reaction score
:welcomean Kev looking forward to reading your posts and reports.Fell free to ask questions,there are lots af experienced flyfishermen here to help you.;)

Frank Whiton

Most Senior Member
Reaction score