Fly fishing spots near Washington, DC

JeffK

Reaction score
I'm new to the sport, and fairly new to the DC area. I just purchased a new LL Bean setup (Double L, 9ft Rod, 5wt. w/ Double L Reel). I and am excited to get out and fish.

I'm looking for suggestions of good places to fish near Washington, DC.

Thoughts? Thanks!

Bob Lang

Reaction score
Jeff,

I've never fished the D. C. area, but I did read a book about fishing that area. If memory serves, and it is getting old, Howell Raines wrote a book about fishing and some of the fishing was in the D. C. area. As I recall the name of the book is Fly Fishing Through the Midlife Crisis. I was surprised one could fish for trout yet literally still be in the downtown area. He also covers trout fishing in Maryland, West Virgiania, etc. It's been a long time since I read it.

I don't know if it is still in print, but someone ought to have it for sale.

Good luck and good fishing.

Bob

jimw

Reaction score
The Potomac River is a great bass fishery the tidal portion south of DC is excellent fishing for LMB (boat required) and they are catching alot of shad right now at a place called Fletchers landing. North of Dc is some of the best SMB fishing around, lots of wadeable fishing. the further you get from the city the better the fishing and the crowds wont be as bad.
Tight Lines
Jim

xjguy07

Reaction score
their are plenty of spots around the dc area, the potomac river is great for bass gills and warm water fish, then in maryland their is the upper potomac in western maryland with trout, along with the potaspaco in centural md around b-more, and va and pa have lot's of locations also. just look around on here or google or find a good book

burns

Reaction score