The Davy Knot

Editor

Fish&Fly
Staff member
Reaction score

Source: GAIA
[h=2]How to tie the Davy knot[/h]The Davy knot was created by Davy Wotton and boast an extreamly high breaking strength. It is used for tying the fly onto the leader and it is much smaller than most other knots so it does not impede the action of the fly as it swims in the water. Furthermore, there is less waste with a Davy knot, unlike a blood knot, for instance, because with practice the tag can be kept very short. This provides a benefit with droppers lasting longer due to less wastage when flies are frequently changed.

Illustrations supplied by John Symonds*
If you would like a GAIA Instructor to help you put theory into practice, use Find An Instructor on our website to get in touch and have a chat about your requirements.

Source Article...

MarsB

Reaction score
I have been using the Davy knot almost exclusively for the past 2 months to tie flys on tippet, and have been very pleased with the results.

plecain

Reaction score
I use the double Davy Knot!
For me it depends on the tippet.

For mono I use the Davy. For fluorocarbon the Double Davy. I had too many slip failures with the single on fluoro.

I've used it enough now that I can tie it in the dark or using my forceps.

dennyk

Reaction score
For me the Davy knot is wonderful! Having arthritis in my hands it's one of the easiest knots to manipulate even for my fingers!

Denny

trs

Reaction score
Looks like a good choice, I think I'll start using it. Always like to try something new. Postings like this are why I love this forum, Everyday is an opportunity to learn something new. I live somewhat off the beaten path for fly fishing and this forum is my main source for information it never disappoints.

sparsegraystubble

Reaction score
I don’t use either of the Davy knots, but probably should.