My Winter Steelheading Journey

bigkais89

Reaction score
I ve seen these type of threads on other sites ...sort of a live from the stream type thread. As I go out after steelhead this winter ill post up the conditions, successes, failures etc so i can hopefully get some useful feedback and learn what i need to do to up my game. Ive only been after steelhead with a fly rod for a few years now so im an amateur for sure. I d like to use this thread as a way of tracking my progression and as a way of learning from the great fishermen on this site. Let me know what ya ll think. Ill be headed out tomorrow am for a few hours. So ill make my first post below. Thanks all, wish me luck ;)

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2

bigkais89

Reaction score
Getting ready to head out to one if my fav western lake Ontario tribs this morning.

Weather:

Cloudy and drizzly
Pressure 29.87
38-42 degrees
Sunrise 7:30(ish)

Stream:

Good flow! Clear with that perfect amount of color.

Flies :

I spent the week tying size 12 and 14 egg flies and nuke eggs in natural colors on the advice of an experienced steelheader i recently met. Best flies today were chartreuse and white globugs, white with orange, white with oregon cheese and chartreuse with red blood dot. I caught all my fish on size twelves using these colors.

The Fish:

Went 5-9 in three hours, four steelies and a brown! Not bad at all. Several nice males in the 6-8lb range, a beastly 12ish lber and a big lakerun brown. Unfortunately, i only have pics of one of the smaller males and the larger male. I was stuck with nothin but the phone and touchscreens are finicky in the rain. Next fishing adventure ill remember my camera lol.

Technique: