New Jersey Fly Fishing Salt Water

ontheflygal08

Reaction score
Hi all- I am fairly new to fly fishing and I started with pan fish and bass, with a little bit of trout. Anyone from NJ that has experience salt water fly fishing?

My goal is to land some fish with my 8 wt rod preferably stripers or blues. I am not sure how common it is to hook up to a flounder/fluke.

Any tidbits would be appreciated! Line, rod, reel, fly use etc...:)

jaywar

Reaction score
I dabble in the salt , but if your from NJ , even though it's trout unlimited, lots of those guys hit the salt . Its a great place to pick someones brain .My local chapter has 2 guys who are very knowledgeable.

Rip Tide

Reaction score
My goal is to land some fish with my 8 wt rod preferably stripers or blues. I am not sure how common it is to hook up to a flounder/fluke.

Any tidbits would be appreciated! Line, rod, reel, fly use etc...:)
I've caught fluke in the surf here in CT just about this time of year
When the young of the year menhaden (peanut bunker) are in close, fluke (summer flounder) will be right there in the wash following the schools

Most people here in the northeast like a 9wt rod with an intermediate line.
I usually fish an 8wt rod, overlined with 9 to 11wt floating lines myself, but I'm not normal :cool:

Here's a little write-up on gear by a member from Long Island.
https://www.theflyfishingforum.com/.../173904-gear-fly-fishing-surf.html#post303976

JoJer

Reaction score
The flies will be: peanut bunker, sand eels, shrimp, on a line that sinks. Maybe some poppers for the bay on a floating line.
When you check the tides, also look around for wind direction when you're deciding where to go.
South Jersey in the fall for Bluefish on the fly is the top of my bucket list.

There used to be some big-ass eels in Barnegat Bay.

Last time I was near south Jersey. I was told that a lot of the local fishery was still nonexistent due to Sandy. The live crabs I bought for dinner came from North Carolina.