Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Default vest or chest packs for fly fishing

I was wondering what other fishers use, i have both vest an a pack. I lean towards the vest for carrying everything, probably way to much stuff.I have a bag too, What do you prefer to use, and why.

Default Re: vest or chest packs for fly fishing

I can not speak from experience as a fly fisherman, as I'm just learning, but as someone who has fished streams with spinning gear for years, I've always had two systems. The first was a vest, loaded with spinners, small surface, sub-surface, and sinking plugs, jigs, and all kinds of other hardware & tools. I used the vest when I knew that I was going to be well away from the vehicle and/or going to be out a long time, as it allowed me to go "heavy".

I also had the capability to go "light", with a lanyard that had clippers, surgical clamp, and a small box that contained about a dozen +/- selected lures. (I always managed to jam a few extras in there.) I'd sometimes jam an extra spool of different test line into a pocket, as well.

I've set myself up for fly-fishing much the same. A vest, with lots of pockets and storage for going "heavy", and an Orvis lanyard system that has tippet storage, a small flybox, clippers, clamp, and just a few other tools for going "light".
    - Rick

"A leader with great passion and few skills always outperforms a leader with great skills and little passion." Chief Rick Lasky

I know I'm leaving myself open for a lot of comments, but I use my daughter's old purses or pocket books...not sure. They are Mud shoulder bag in grey canvas that is perfect size for fly gear with seperate pockets and sections. Also a black Old Navy shoulder bag. These are about $10 on sale and work great. One for SM and one for Trout fishing. I tried the vest for a while and didn't like it in the summer, did the waist pack...nope. The shoulder bag is perfect for me. Of couse the wife says I should get boots that match my purse.