Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  10
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Default Good fly tying scissors?

Hi
    I'm new to fly tying and need some recommendations on a good pair of fly tying scissors. I had lots of help on here selecting a good tying vise so I'm back for more great feedback! I tie mostly smaller trout flies and was thinking of the anvil 50-a. What do you think/use?
    Thanks
    Richard

Default Re: Good fly tying scissors?

I use Dr. Slick. All purpose are a good place to start. Their arrow scissors are great for fine work.
    - William

Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada border

I have Dr. Slick scissors also. If you look around you can probably get them on sale right now being year end, and time for new models. But if you can't get them on sale they are still worth it.

Or you could get something like this; http://www.ebay.com/itm/ALL-PURPOSE-...item3f1e79b655

Mine came in a kit. I have Dr. Slick scissors. I also got some arrow point bass pro brand that was fine as well. Shop around because they can be costly.
    Okiemountaineer

Dr. Slick Razor Sissors, 4 inch, and Rubis micro tip sissors for fine work.

Blog Entries

I've been using a pair of sixth finger scissors for a few years and really enjoy how they feel in the hand and how they cut.
    JS Fly Fishing: Rod Building, Fly Tying: Singlebarbed Sixth Finger Scissors
    Larry

7. Likes littledavid123 liked this post