Simms Freestone vs G3 vs???

Reaction score
Hey y'all,

I hate to ask yet another iteration of this question on this forum, but I'm looking to fish trout in Tennessee, North Georgia, and Maryland (where I live during the school year because of graduate school) and need to make a wading boot purchase.
The most relevant rivers are probably: Gunpowder (MD), Hiwassee (TN), Upper Toccoa (Georgia), and Jacks (Georgia), and maybe Mossy Creek (VA). So there could be a good deal of hiking involved in some cases, little to none in others.

The fishing in GA/TN will be primarily from May-August; Maryland and Virginia the rest of the year.

As a grad student, I'm obviously trying to get the best value, but also something that is up for the job and will last, that's why I have been taking people's advice and been looking at Simms.
However, I cannot decide if the G3, Headwaters, or Freestone (or maybe something else entirely) seems best for the rivers I mentioned. The price of the G3 is somewhat galling, but I'd hate to be uncomfortable, lack ankle support, or get a boot that doesn't last as long. I've heard the Freestones feel heavy compared to the G3's, which is why I'm leaning toward ponying up the $229 for the G3's. The Headwaters' Boa system looks cool, but I'd need to get extra field repair kits in case the "laces" snap. That about kills the $30 discount that comes with going that route. So if I went with the Headwaters, it'd have to be for a different reason.

Anyways, I'll quit rambling and look forward to your input.

flytie09

Reaction score
I have 2x older pairs of the Headwaters and a G3. You can’t go wrong with the quality, support and price of the lace up Headwaters. As a grad student, save your money and go this route and then splurge down the road.

jbcissell

Reaction score
I have a pair of the freestones and they're good but I don't do lots of hiking. I have no problem with the shorter walks I do (up to maybe a mile).

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk