Some of this gear seems redundant...maybe

City Rat

Reaction score
Streams in the GWNF, SNP,Potomac, Rappahanock and
Hi guys this is my first post so go easy, I'm here to learn. While not at all new to the outdoors, I hunt, backpack, camp, hike, etc. I am brand new to fly fishing. I sat down with a local guru yesterday and he opened up the firehose of knowledge as I took notes. Going over my notes today it seems like three items on the list of strongly suggested tackle would be redundant if you just brought along a decent multi-tool:
1- Needle nose pliers- for crushing barbs
2- Clippers and scissors pliers- to cut leader material
3-hemostats, forceps or tweezers to remove hooks from fish.

My current, 25 year old, multi-tool has needle nose pliers, with integrated wire cutters and, at least from the newbie's eye, it would seem that they could handle the duties of these three tools in one. Am I missing something or did the traditional tackle list just not get updated in light of advancement in multi-tools? Thanks in advance.

cooutlaw

Reaction score
Hi Rat- and Welcome! The forum is a wealth of information and a great resource for new and old alike. Your tool would potentially get the job done, but.....I'm assuming you haven't spent much time in the water yet...when changing flies, tippets, etc. it's not easy to grab, unfold, set-up a multi tool, while in current, juggling and balancing a rod, to clip line, wet hands, potentially dropping the tool into the water....let alone trying to do so after bringing a fish to hand for release. I can chop wood with a machete, but I'd rather have an axe. hemostats, nippers, etc. can be secured by lanyards or zingers and offer quick and easy access without set-up. After you spend some time fishing, you'll discover what works best for you....in the beginning, guessing wont do you much good, buy the cheap basics and fish....upgrade after you discover your own personal preferences. Hope that helps.

spm

Reaction score