Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  20
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Blue Ridge, Rappahanock, Potomac, Salmon River, NY and soon Sandy River, Oregon

Default Some of this gear seems redundant...maybe

Hi guys this is my first post so go easy, I'm here to learn. While not at all new to the outdoors, I hunt, backpack, camp, hike, etc. I am brand new to fly fishing. I sat down with a local guru yesterday and he opened up the firehose of knowledge as I took notes. Going over my notes today it seems like three items on the list of strongly suggested tackle would be redundant if you just brought along a decent multi-tool:
    1- Needle nose pliers- for crushing barbs
    2- Clippers and scissors pliers- to cut leader material
    3-hemostats, forceps or tweezers to remove hooks from fish.

My current, 25 year old, multi-tool has needle nose pliers, with integrated wire cutters and, at least from the newbie's eye, it would seem that they could handle the duties of these three tools in one. Am I missing something or did the traditional tackle list just not get updated in light of advancement in multi-tools? Thanks in advance.

2. Likes Ard, slipshift liked this post
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Some of this gear seems redundant...maybe