Looking for some good spots near Clackamas or Sandy Rivers

fryfishingguy

Reaction score
So I'm new to the Portland area and KNOW there are probably dozens of great fishing spots but I wanted to ask forum members if they had any specifically that were good for them...

I'm looking for someplace where I can wade to maybe 2" and have a clear view (not murky) of the bottom, with water that's not flowing too fast so that I can bring my 11 year old with me. Ideally, 45 min drive so from Tigard/Beaverton area and with ready access from the road.. so I don't have to hike from where I park..

I'm told there are quite a few spots like this on the Clackamas river, but I don't know where to even start looking... thanks all for the help.

Sam

BigCliff

Reaction score
I fished the Clack a bit at Clackamette park, but the flow's pretty heavy there. Apparently its a good spot to net smelt during the run though.

There's access at a boat ramp across the river from Carver, with a steep creek pouring into the river right there.

I fished the Sandy as well, from Wildwood Park, I think. I caught nothing at any of those spots, how y'all do better.

Aside from fishing, enjoy Gustav's and McMenamin's.

mikel

Reaction score
Maybe some locals will chime in, but I have fished the Clack above Estacada...actually, above the reservoir, just a bit. Quite a bit of access. Lots of smaller trout eager to hit a dry or stimi/dropper. (This was summer, so check for current conditions.)

Follow the link I sent in a PM for better info.

-Mike

Vans

Reaction score
If you want to fish the Clackamas,go to McIver park and park at the lower boat ramp. There is a good area for casting and fishing. If you head down river from there, there is a small island on the right hand side of which is a great run to fish.

Lots of good fishing at the park, by the other ramp as well. Only downside is there is a lot of pressure.

fredaevans

Reaction score
White City (tad north of Medford) Oar-E-Gone