Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Yamsi Ranch / Williamson

Default Yamsi Ranch / Williamson

I booked a trip to Yamsi Ranch without knowing too much about it - I won a package deal at a flyfishing club auction. I plan to be up there towards the end of August.

I've looked at their website, and it sounds like it has several springs that feed the Williamson. Can anyone else give me some advice or tell me what to expect, fishing-wise or ranch-wise? I'm a relative newbie (been fishing almost a year now).

Default Re: Yamsi Ranch / Williamson

Are you locals recommending hoppers?
    ...'cause all I'm hearing is the sound of chirping crickets on this thread!

Yikes I saw this post yesterday and didn’t respond because I thought with a forum that sports a membership as high as this one, someone must have more recent experience there than I do.
    In the nineties we ran annual hosted trips up to the Chiloquin area using local guides etc and one of the venues we’d always include was a day on the ranch. On occasion I’d run back up there with groups of friends to do Hyde and the lower Williamson.
    Back then the advertised draw wasn’t so much the upper section of the river, it was Hyde lake and I’d be willing to bet that to this day, many of our clients have no idea that they were on Yamsi Ranch. The ranches name wasn’t synonymous with the target of their trip, they only knew the place as Hyde lake and that it was on a private working ranch.

At that time the lake had a reputation for big rainbows, ( I think they were Kamloops ), who’d gorge themselves on the abundant damsels and dragons. That lake would get damsel hatches that could creep out all but the most jaded fly guys. During a good hatch you could be covered in emerging damsel nymphs and tenerals, to the point of fouled guides on your rod, hundreds on your limbs, face, hands, tube - if it was above water, they’d use it.