California snow

Bigfly

Reaction score
Just to share......I push snow for a living at Alpine resort. There's not that much snow here so don't get all excited.
Climate change causes more moisture aloft.....mostly warm from Hawaii, so much of the "snow" was rain that ran off.
Rivers of water on the streets and very slidy conditions. Moisture not to be used later, and later is all that counts.
I know that's counter intuitive but there you go.
The most I've heard is 114% OVER last years total (Which was paltry). I judge by how much we have in the lot, or around town....when the street signs disappear, I'll let you know.They never subtract from the snow totals, after it rains, just pump it up more. So they sound pretty silly to locals because we can SEE what we have. The weather man called for 10ft drifts..........we got two feet.....
Went fishing yesterday...easy approach to the water, that won't happen if we get going with winter.

Pacific Northeast, Water Vapor Loop: GOES West

Jim

Last edited:

yikes

Reaction score
Just to share......I push snow for a living at Alpine resort. There's not that much snow here so don't get all excited.
That's odd, this morning Alpine's own website banner says that they got 7.5 feet of snow in the last 7 days. Are we referring to the same area?

Here's the snowpack report from CEDC, saying central Sierra is 126% of average for this date (2/9). However, there is prognosis of a Pineapple Express next week that could melt away much of the snowpack.

Bigfly

Reaction score
Never believe a resort snow total.......
Would I LIE to a forum member? NO!
When you live by snow marketing, the truth can get stretched a bit. A foot a day would be 7 feet and I wouldn't be able to go fish right?
It is the same resort. Alpine/squaw.
Do you remember how wonder bread builds bodies 12 ways?
This is no different. People who believe what the read/hear are at risk of disappointment in life.