New fisher looking for tips

flyingmonk

Reaction score
I'm new to the sport. I took a class last year and loved it, and would like to spend more time in the sport. Now, I want to buy a rod and reel, and don't wish to have to purchase every two years; I want one to last for many years to come. I like things for the duration.

Thank for the tips to come.

ciao!

notenuftoys

Reaction score
Welcome! I got started back in the spring, so I don't have many tips to offer other than fish as often as you can. There's some great books and DVD's to learn from and this is great forum with guys that are always willing to help.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Monk,

Welcome to the forum, what will you be fishing for? It will also help to know where you live in order to offer up advice.

Ard

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
I'm new to the sport. I took a class last year and loved it, and would like to spend more time in the sport. Now, I want to buy a rod and reel, and don't wish to have to purchase every two years; I want one to last for many years to come. I like things for the duration.

Thank for the tips to come.

ciao!
Welcome to the sport! Here are two tips.

1. Find yourself a good shop that you feel comfortable with. Be honest with the staff. They will steer you right.

2. Find yoursef a fly fishing club. That way you can network with others who may be in the same situation that you are in. You will also gain some fly fishing partners.

Merry Christmas,
MP

Reaction score
Im new to the sport to but as a beginner you shouldnt spend to much on your fly pole because you will become more expirenced and know what you need to catch the fish your targeting.Also in the long run, pesonally, i think its better to tie your own flies to. Gives you something to look into.
Good luck and merry christmas:D:D:D

jpbfly

Super Moderator
Reaction score