Any decent beginner setups?

andrewzw

Reaction score
I'm 14 years old and I've always wanted to get into fly fishing. I usually do ultralight lake trout fishing.

Looking for a beginner setup for around $200 including everything if that's possible.

Cabela's Prestige® Fly-Fishing Outfits

Is something like that okay? Or any recommendations?

jpbfly

Super Moderator
Reaction score
:welcomean Andy!glad to see a little young blood here:D you should find good deals for $200...don't know Cabela's products...you could have a look on e bay too;)

simmons_j_m

Reaction score
Welcome to the site Andy. I'm new to fly fishing as well... just caught my first fish the other day on my third outing with a fly rod.

This is the one I picked up from Cabelas. Cabela's Three Forks/Prestige Plus Fly Combo with Fly Line

I bought the 8'6" 5wt and so far I love it, although I can't compare it against anything else. The kit you linked to is alright, if you want all that stuff. Personally, I'd get the one I linked to and then you still have 120 to spend to get some hip waders, a vest, all the tools you need, plus some tippets in various sizes... you could even get a couple fly boxes and some flies...

That's just my opinion and I'm sure others will be along to give recommendations. Again, :welcome: and enjoy your stay.

- Justin

bekiu002

Reaction score
I got the three forks 8'6 6wt/prestige plus reel is what I started out with. I thought it was a very good beginner set up. Very easy to learn to cast with.

There is a thread on here in the Fly Gear FAQ section that lists what a lot of the fly fishing veterans of this site would suggest. Some of the set ups are around the same price as the one you listed but wouldn't come with all the extra gear. This FAQ section has a lot of good information that helped me out a lot when I first started.
http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-fishing-gear-faq/3255-what-good-low-cost-outfit-beginner.html

Good luck!
Cabot

flytyer_neal