I keep breaking thread!

beerbrewer

Reaction score
I'm new to fly tying and I've made a few nice saltwater flys, but I keep breaking the thread. I don't think I'm pulling too hard, but i could be. I'm using Danville Flat Waxed Thread. It seems to break right at the end of the bobbin. Is my bobbin the issue? Should I go to a heavier thread? What am I doing wrong?

ant

Reaction score
Is your bobbin all metal? If so there could be a bur at the end. Try a little bit of emory paper to sand off the bur. (Or worse there is a bur in the tube. I don't know any way to get rid of those. Or you could buy a ceramic bobbin. Those don't get burs.

If you opt to get the ceramic bobbin and your still breaking thread, your probably pulling to hard.

Ant

HuronRiverDan

Reaction score
First thing I thought of was you have a bur in your bobbin. Run some small diameter yarn through the bobbin and see if it catches. I like my ceramic bobbins very much.

Dan

Jimmie

Reaction score
My tying instructor used a Dremmel Tool, tooth pick, jewlers/lapidery (sp) polish on one of my ceramic bobbins. It helped a lot.
There's still a chance that it's your thread or thread tension. I'll go for weeks without breaking thread and then put another spool on the bobbin. The new will break three or four times on the same fly.

mepeterser2451

Reaction score
i had the same problem with a bur in my steel bobbin. ceramic is way better. however, i still break it sometimes because the spool refuses to spin, so i usually just take a knife or scissors and ever so slightly shave off a bit on the spool so that it doesn't lock.

peregrines

Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator
Reaction score
beerbrewer- flat waxed nylon has a breaking strength of around 5lbs, which is pretty strong compared to most threads, (but not as strong as some others like kevlar or gsp). I use FWN on most of the SW stuff i tie.