Need a new rod

bigtroutfishr

Reaction score
hello all, i am pretty new to fly fishing and i am in need of a new rod. i bought a kit at dicks to start with, big mistake. i am looking for a medium action 4wt, preferably 7-8ft. i fish limestone and spring creeks in pa, so casting is usually under 30 ft. i mostly fish dry droppers (nymph on bottom, dry on top) and straight line nymphing. i would like to keep the rod price around $150. lets here those suggestions, thanks!

jaybo41

Reaction score
Hi,

Welcome to the forum. I don't have the rod I'm going to recommend but many people who fish them on the forum swear by them. Look for a Redington CT, you will have to search for them on the net but they're on closeout. Selection may be limited at this point but they're there. The newer model of the CT is the Tempt which is just a little over your budget. I'm basing this on past recommendations from members and the criteria that you're looking for. Medium action, spring creeks and under 30' fishing.

noreaster

Reaction score
Sounds like the St.Croix Imperial would be perfect for you. I fish a 4 wt. 7.6 foot Imperial rod and love it. Lots of power and very delicate and accurate.

As well the Imperial line did very well in a big review shootout. Finished best in its price range. I think best in show under $150.00
They seem to have gone up in price over the last year. You can probably find a deal if you search.

noreaster

Reaction score
Noreaster, I saw a review that said the imperial was a fast rod, or is that subjective?

I was using a 5 wt 7.6 foot Sage RPL. I switched the reel and 5 wt. line over to the St.Croix Imperial. So I over weighted it and it worked flawlessly. I also have been using a 3 wt line on it lately and have to say it handled it well as well. I find for a light weight 4wt, it has the flexibility to be both under and over weighted. Quite an accomplishment for a 7.6 foot 4 wt. under $200.00