fly line shrink tube, slip on leaderss etc.

craigthor

Reaction score
Nail knot it.... Practice first as the first dozen are the hardest to dress properly after that they are fairly easy.

fq13

Reaction score
Nail knot it.... Practice first as the first dozen are the hardest to dress properly after that they are fairly easy.
Buy the tool. Best five bucks you'll spend. A nail knot where the mono bites into the fly line is stronger than a loop every day.
Tie a dozen and you'll wonder why you thought it was hard.(Though I'm not signing up to use a nail).

ia_trouter

Reaction score
Had a piece of tubing that worked before but couldn't find it yesterday when I needed it. No to just using a nail method, my fingers just aren't that talented. If I didn't go through so many leaders as a noob I wouldn't mind jacking with a nail knot every time. As far as strength of a loop strength, I'm thinking the 4 LB tippet breaks first? I'll do a nail knot on my pike rod.

TeddyBallgame09

Reaction score
Buy the tool. Best five bucks you'll spend. A nail knot where the mono bites into the fly line is stronger than a loop every day.
Tie a dozen and you'll wonder why you thought it was hard.(Though I'm not signing up to use a nail).
^^^^^
What he said :)

Seriously...buy a nail knot tool....until you do, you'll feel like a caveman before fire was invented.

ia_trouter

Reaction score
You wanna be my streamside "Knot Boy" forever Craig? I'm trying to make this easier on ya :)

Craig and I fish together some if that didn't make it obvious. I'll buy a tool. I just haven't noticed them where I shop. I'm still putting a loop on one of my lines too. Gotta let me learn some of this stuff for myself. I use heat shrink insulation all the time at work. Can't be that much different.

silver creek

Reaction score
You wanna be my streamside "Knot Boy" forever Craig? I'm trying to make this easier on ya :)

.... I use heat shrink insulation all the time at work. Can't be that much different.