$40 rod vs $140 rod

chuck145

Reaction score
I am new to fly fishing; but, I have fished for the last 40 years. I have assess to inexpensive equipment in my town but not to the higher "quality" equipment I read about and see on the internet. I dont mind paying more for the quality if it is something I can appreciate which brings me to my question....As a beginning fly fisherman, using a good reel and cortman 333pro fly line would I appreciate the difference in a $40 Martin 5w 9 ft rod and say a $140 Echo rod of the same specs?

BigCliff

Reaction score
Yes. 6-10 years ago this would not have been the case, but in the last few years the quality of most of the $80-$200 rods has gone WAY up. The Martin would be the kind of rod that would get you started, but that you would grow out of fairly quickly. The ECHO is one you wouldn't grow out of.

fshfanatic

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I began with the "cheap stuff" and have graduated up what most call the "high end" stuff. I reall does make all the difference in the world. The gear is lighter and the lines shoot faster and better. If you are out for a long day of casting, you will appreciate the lighter rods, reels, etc.

chuck145

Reaction score
I appreciate the responses. Aside from the weight issues, what should I expect out of the better rods? The Martin that I looked at locally is graphite and certainly much lighter than the old fiberglass fly rod I have. Is a good rod just something you have to experience? And would the weekend warrior recognize the difference? I apologize for being a pain about this; but, I am just trying to understand what differences I should expect. Thanks in advance for your responses

fshfanatic

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
chuck145 said: