Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ID this bug?

1. Default ID this bug?

I was down at Decker's today and was using my "seine" to see what was in the water and caught these. I'm pretty new to entomology, so I was looking for some veteran help identifying them. I compared them to a couple caddis larvae and mayfly nymphs at Trout Nut, but nothing really matched exactly. Anyway, thanks for any help in advance.

Blog Entries

Default Re: ID this bug?

I'm no Deckers expert but I would be using a Stone Fly Creeper nymph to imitate that one............

Anywhere can be the land of great expectations, broken dreams, or paradise found, it's all up to you.

Life On The Line - Alaska Fishing with Ard
    Ard's Forum blog, Alaska Outdoors

Mayfly larvae.

Sorry, I don't know the specific genus or species

Might try here to see if you can match a picture.

Welcome to BugGuide.Net! - BugGuide.Net

Blog Entries

Good one! It very well may be, I don't really know........... but I have a nymph pattern that looks like it

Anywhere can be the land of great expectations, broken dreams, or paradise found, it's all up to you.

That's a little net spinning caddis larva, can't tell you the exact genus, species, yada yada yada, but I can tell you it's a caddis.

6. Default Re: ID this bug?

I think fyshstykr naild it: a net spinning caddis. After his post I did some reading and found this page: Caddisflies (Order Trichoptera) or Sedge flies which had a really good break down of caddis flies. My initial mistake was only knowing about the free living caddis, never having seen or read (that I can recall, I'm sure I did at some point) about the net spinning variety.

Thanks for the help!

Quote Originally Posted by fyshstykr View Post
    That's a little net spinning caddis larva, can't tell you the exact genus, species, yada yada yada, but I can tell you it's a caddis.
    I second this ..