Basic Dry Fly Setup

bleonskis

Reaction score
Hi! My name is Brandon, and I live in Colorado. I am a novice fly angler fishing this way for barley a year. Recently, I have been researching on how to setup a basic dry fly rig to no prevail. I have been in contact (believe it or not) with my local fly shops to receive horrible service and no real information. Personally, I think they're just racist ass holes. My problem is I can't seem to get my dry to float. Is there a specific leader or setup that I need? I have floatant, but my fly still sinks to where i can't follow its progression down the drift. I am not using fluorocarbon when attempting to dry fly. Please Help! I can nymph fairly well, but I want to advance my skills in this beautiful art . I fly fish on local rivers and streams. Also, I understand how to match the hatch and read water. Thanks for any information that may be provided! Tight lines my fly fishing brethren. :fishing:

jpbfly

Super Moderator
Reaction score
:welcome:Brandon...think the tippet has nothing to do with your problem...which dry pattern do you use?do you fish fast waters?Looks like your dries are not made with good quality hackles...I understand you must be angry with the guys at the flyshop ....but watch out your language here please;)

Last edited:

bleonskis

Reaction score
Sorry sir I thought the internet was uncensored. I apologize. I use all patterns pretty much. Mayfly, beatis, caddis, midge, Griffith gnat parachute Adams all that jazz. I buy them from the fly shop I hope they're high quality haha

---------- Post added at 11:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:24 AM ----------

I try not fish to fast of water. I try to find a steady run that isn't too fast or too slow

alexs

Reaction score
Give us a concrete example: size of tippet, pattern and size of fly, type of water fished (flat, riffle, pocket water). What floatant do you use?

Alex

bleonskis

Reaction score