Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Colorado Trip '14

Default Colorado Trip '14

I want to take a trip out west this spring/summer with my wife. I'm looking for recommendations on when and where to go. I know spring runoff isn't a predictable creature, but roughly when does that happen? Will it shut down all my trout fishing options? I'm thinking of basing out of Breckenridge. I've been there a couple times. It has plenty of shops and restaurants to entertain my wife, and is close to the Blue and South Park creeks. What other towns might be a good option for us? I have little experience fishing bigger rivers, and am a bit nervous about that.
    Read my fishing blog RodandRivet.com

Blog Entries

Default Re: Colorado Trip '14

Breckenridge is a good solid choice, as you stated you have the Blue right there and wouldn't have to worry about spring runoff (usually in the June early July time frame). You also wouldn't be that far from the Frying Pan (another tailwater near Basalt, CO) or the Roaring Fork (both smaller sized waters). The Eagle River is just to the west, but it will have issues with spring runoff as will the Roaring Fork. You would also have the option to hit the Colorado River (if it wasn't spring runoff) up along hwy 40 near Parshall/Hot Sulfur Springs, the river isn't too big up that high. If you follow hwy 9 north you could also hit the Yampa River below Stagecoach Reservoir (just south of Steamboat Springs). There is good public access (via a public walking path) to the Yampa right in Steamboat Springs if you wanted to go up for a day trip. Anyway, there are a few choices to think about.

Larry
    Larry

3. Likes waterfordcreek liked this post
    Blog Entries