I too am going to montana and jackson hole.

dubs chops

Reaction score
Hey guys I am also planning a vacation in early june to jackson hole and to yellowstone. the difference is I am a complete Newb. I wont have money for a guide either and was hoping to get some info from you guys on where i should stay that would have some fishing close by i could go do while the wife and mother and child go shopping or something, Also what are the fish up there eating? Any help is appreciated, thanks guys.

Coloradokid

Reaction score
Im from CO, and here, June is a big runoff month. Id guess its very similar to Montana. Unless you plan on fishing tailwaters, they should be clear untill any tributaries mess it up. There are alot of members from Montana, im sure they can give some advise on where to fish that time of year.

Good Luck!!

Coloradokid

Reaction score
With the warm temps all the snow will be melting, causing the water color to trun to dirt or mud. It is very difficult to fish muddy water. And the water level will be extra high because of all the snow melt. Tailwaters are rivers that flow right out of the bottom of a reservior, and they do not freeze, b/c the water coming out of the bottom the res is much warmer than suface water. Im guessing you will have to fish tailwaters to find clear, wadable water. I hope this helps, let me know if you have any other question.

2PawsRiver

Reaction score
Please forgive my ignorance but what does that mean?
The rivers are driven by melting snow and glacial run off. June, even late June rivers will be high and murky.

Earliest I would look to fish would be late July, better in August, cooler but still good fishing in early Sept.

dubs chops

Reaction score
well unfortunately I can't change the dates. I will be up there with other family. Guess I will have to make do with what I have. What about in yellowstone park?

Flycaster1221

Reaction score