Montana Lake/Stream Fishing Ideas

skins2215

Reaction score
Hey Folks--

I"m very new to the fly fishing scene and i'm looking for some fairly easily accessible lakes or mountain streams that would be great fishing.

Ideally, i'd like to find something near Red Lodge or possibly even closer to Big Timber (up the boulder possibly). I'm still learning, so i'm not as worried about HUGE numbers of fish or catching large fish...rather being in a situation where I can work on my techniques and get away for a bit. I don't mind taking a walk either, unfortunately I don't have an "off-road" vehicle so I can't get too wild when it comes to the back roads. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks!

BigCliff

Reaction score
Hey Folks--

I"m very new to the fly fishing scene and i'm looking for some fairly easily accessible lakes or mountain streams that would be great fishing.

Ideally, i'd like to find something near Red Lodge or possibly even closer to Big Timber (up the boulder possibly). I'm still learning, so i'm not as worried about HUGE numbers of fish or catching large fish...rather being in a situation where I can work on my techniques and get away for a bit. I don't mind taking a walk either, unfortunately I don't have an "off-road" vehicle so I can't get too wild when it comes to the back roads. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks!
I've not fished Montana yet, but based on what you've told us, you're best off fishing small streams up at high elevations where you can fish dry flies straight upstream to fish that haven't seen many humans. They'll be small, but eager to bite.

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score