Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Long Leader on Int Sink Line in surf

Default Long Leader on Int Sink Line in surf

So I am still learning and I came to the conclusion today that trying a long , self made graduated leader ( like 50-40-30-20 tippet) does not work well in the surf ( a beach out front ) with a lot of wind.

I now realize why so many told me just to use 3-6 feet of 50 lb test.

For what it's worth I was targeting stripers/blues/albies in Long Island on a south shore beach.

Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada border

Default Re: Long Leader on Int Sink Line in surf

Just out of curiosity, how windy and from what direction in relation to you was it? What was the leader doing you didn't like?

With a full sink line I'll go with a 3 ft leader, but with a intermediate line you need at least 6' otherwise you're not getting down far enough.
    Depending on the fly I'll use either 6' of straight mono or most often a 3 segment tied leader of about 8 feet with 4' of butt, 2' mid, 2' tippet. In the wind you can also extend the butt section to make the leader 5' butt, 1' mid and 2' tippet. The extra butt helping to turn the leader over and punch out the fly.
    Myself, I'm more likely to fish a full sink when the wind is up. The thinner diameter of the full sink line cuts through wind much better than any intermediate or floater
    Last edited by Rip Tide; 09-21-2011 at 09:15 AM.
    The simpler the outfit, the more skill it takes to manage it, and the more pleasure one gets in his achievements. --- Horace Kephart

Quote Originally Posted by Diver Dan View Post
    Just out of curiosity, how windy and from what direction in relation to you was it? What was the leader doing you didn't like?
    It was a regular fall type wind y day on the beach . Nothing crazy like hurricane gusts but a steady wind day. The water was sweeping from left to right. And the wind was blowing from about 2 o'clock position, if you will.