Equipment Advice Requested!

bacmb

Reaction score
Hi! I'm a novice fly fisherman, having fished a dozen times in the mountains for trout. We live on the Georgia coast, in Savannah. I'd like to try (since I have access year round) salt water fly fishing, especially redfish. I know I need different equipment for this. I'm open to other suggestions, but have narrowed my search down to two options.

1. Used Fin-Nor No 2 8/9 reel, with Scientific Anglers WF9F line and backing, Redinton Rod, and a dozen salt flies, can get for around $300.
2. New Piscifun Platte 9/10 reel with Redington 2 pc 9 wt rod. I'd have to add backing and line to this, but the rod and reel would run about $280 or so with a discount code at piscifun.

The classic Fin-Nor looks cool, seems extremely well made, but is older and I'm guessing doesn't have some of the newer features or technology of the Piscifun.

Any thoughts or recommendations?

Thanks,

Chuck

karstopo

Reaction score
I think the Fin-Nor reels were top rate, really top quality. I’d go with that option. That reel will do anything you might need it to do. It might be heavier than the newer reel, but that’s not such a bad thing. Fin-Nor reels are supposed to have excellent drag systems.

jr spey

Reaction score
It depends upon which Fin Nor #2 we're talking about. I can think of at least eight reels called Fin Nor that were a Model #2. Most were quite heavy, perhaps too much so for today's modern rods. A few of them are just not good reels, especially some of the latter ones that were made in Asia. None are particularly recent. Can you put up a photo of the reel you're thinking about buying? That will help us help you.

jr spey

Reaction score