Pope and Young / spey style

silvertip8k

Reaction score
Hello...this is my second SBS...it was easier than my first one...but still room for improvement...

cold and snowy here today...need a project to kill some time...and tie up a few regulars...plus I am a newbie at the SBS deal...so here goes try #2

its a taily little beast...but it makes some wiggles that drive the fish wild...

here is a super simple pattern I tie when the others hurt too much:(...roomatiz...that is rheumatism ...LOL...as in arthritis...I can tie up 6-8 or so in a hour...only a few materials...but its functional...and has accounted for numerous steelhead and trout...with both my spey and 10ft 6weight too...its a great pattern for first time tyers...and a good base for many combinations...

it can also be tied in a trout version(which how it started) in a smaller hook...smaller wings and shorter tail...it has been a very successful pattern fishing the South platt River in Colorado as part of a dropper rig...

its an easy casting fly...when all else fails...I pitch this...I have tied it in several different color variations...darker wing, lighter and darker body etc...also I have tied it with tinsel ribs too...but this is the simplest version...and the one I like the best...I even tried it with an articulting rig too...

materials used...(yep...some more stuff from the ranch)but can be easily replaced w/ other stuff...

hook #6 Tiemco 7999 ,6-8
Elk Mane for tail
Buffalo wool for dubbing
gadwall body for wings and drops...
black dacron thread
super glue & 5 minute epoxy

some elk mane is tied onto the hook...a little super glue is glazed over the wraps to secure the mane ...if you tighten the elk fur to hard it flares up too much...

I use some buffalo wool for the dubbing...regular dubbing could be used or even some chenile ...I had to pick out some leftover alfalfa...something left over from its previous user...

I spin and wax it about 2 1/2" or 7-8cm...