Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: decent setup for panfish/small lmb

Default decent setup for panfish/small lmb

i got a orvis 7 wt setup that ive been using for everything from panfish to reds but id like to get a smaller setup to have more fun with panfish and other fw fish. i was looking at this:

NXT Outfits

the TFO 4/5 wt setup. its complete and its only $200. ive heard their products are good for the money and i dont need any g loomis for the fw fish i chase. is this setup good to go in yalls opinion?

i posted this on some other fishing forums and a couple ppl said they use 6' 2wts for panfish and lmb up to 3 lbs. seem like it would be a ton of fun but a little too light for some of the bass flies i have. maybe a 3wt with 4wt line would help me throw up to #4 hooks? thanks

Default Re: decent setup for panfish/small lmb

I have no experience with this outfit but it looks pretty good to me.TFO products are very good for the bucks.I also agree that a 4wt is nice for LMB and panfish.A 2wt might be more fun but fly size will be limited and any wind will quickly become a factor.Ive caught many bass,shad,pickerel,panfish,even carp on a 4wt.This outfit looks good but if you have a chance to cast it before buying,that would be best.

rjackh

Welcome to the forum.

I haven't used the the NXT either, but TFO does have a good reputation-- and I'd agree with you on a heavier weight than a 2 weight if you're going to be throwing stuff like wind resistant bass poppers-- I think the 4/5 would be a good setup (and also a nice choice for trout if you have any nearby) and more versatile for all around fishing than a 2 weight.

Again welcome to the forum,
    Mark

I've had tons of panfish put up a fight on a 9' 5wt. I've never fished anything
    smaller than 4wt, and I do target panfish often. Also, I've had plenty of
    LMB take small flies: Green Weenies, #10 wooly buggers, #10 muddlers, Madame X's, green foam hoppers in #10 and #12. The LMB below took a