Thread: newbie in need of advice

1. Question newbie in need of advice

Hi everybody,
    Well I am new to fly fishing seems much diferent than baitcasting.
    I have been trying to learn as much as i can,I think I understand about rod
    and reels some things about line wt. and the such but what about flies
    I will be fishing primaraly the Kern River in central CA for trout.I am using x5
    tippet what size fly? I have alway's wanted to try Fly fishing and as I
    approach 40 now is the time---Long over due.I can see that there is alot
    to learn but I know I will enjoy meeting new people and of course enjoying
    the out doors.

Default Re: newbie in need of advice

Welcome to the group!

It sounds like you are basing your decision of what flies to fish on the size of tippet you have already bought. The decision should go more like this: Figure out what the fish you are after are eating -> choose a fly to match their food -> then fish it on a tippet that matches it. 5x is a pretty safe bet for being the right size for trout fishing, but I just wanted to outline what I think is a better process to use.
    http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-..._1276302_n.jpg

I'd rather hunt fish than bait deer any day.

3. Default Re: newbie in need of advice

Quote Originally Posted by BigCliff View Post
    Welcome to the group!

It sounds like you are basing your decision of what flies to fish on the size of tippet you have already bought. The decision should go more like this: Figure out what the fish you are after are eating -> choose a fly to match their food -> then fish it on a tippet that matches it. 5x is a pretty safe bet for being the right size for trout fishing, but I just wanted to outline what I think is a better process to use.
    Thanks Cliff for the info.like I said there is alot to learn but i am willing to listen to those who know.Thanks again.

Default Re: newbie in need of advice

Hi foodguy,

Welcome to the forum.