Running line

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
I use lines which have the vinyl runner integrated right onto the back of the head. The stuff Steve Godshall fuses onto his lines is very nice. If you find yourself considering more lines you might want to give him a call.

flytie09

Reaction score
I use these.

100' Running Line with Loops Fly Line for Shooting Heads Spey Switch 034 | eBay

At $12.50 ea you can't go wrong. I like value and I like coated fly-line feel. I'm not casting 150 ft out either, but where I go..... this ain't happenin' or possible very often. Plus I'm a novice, so I'm not sure it will help my casting distance much. I have many more kinks to iron out first.

The silverbacks like Mono running lines (Amnesia, Varivas, etc) as they are inexpensive also (maybe more so) and they feel more connected (better response) to their fly during the swing.

This sums up the whole debate better than my blabbering can.

Shooting Lines

I hope this helps. Good luck.

ft09

Last edited:

Unknownflyman

Reaction score
I use gripshooter, I like it a lot, seems to get beat up pretty fast where I fish, mine is pretty much shot after one season.

I like airflo so I'm trying out some ridge line next.

fyshstykr

Reaction score
Airflo 'Ridge'. Though one of these days I may give one of Godshall's head/line combos a try.

rockriver

Reaction score
I currently have a Steve Godshall running line and head on my 7wt. Just thinking of what else and to set up my 8wt. Thanks.

fyshstykr

Reaction score
I currently have a Steve Godshall running line and head on my 7wt. Just thinking of what else and to set up my 8wt. Thanks.
Integrated lines are great as long as there is no need to change out your head, you can change the entire line out back to the backing, but I'm not gonna change out that much unless I really need to.

B

blackbugger

I use Miracle Braid.