Knot Tying Tools

lanyard

Reaction score
Who uses one or more of them to good advantage? Which one? The tie fast tool seems a great nail knot tool, while the Three in one has the additional feature of the spring loaded clasp. Don't have either, but plan to get one or both...

Finally, (or maybe there are others) just using forceps to clasp tag ends is a tidy method. Any comments, insight, appreciated...thanks.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Just this one for nail knots.

All others are pretty easy but I struggled with nail knots for many years. A guy in a shop here gave me one of these because he felt sorry for me living in my cave. It is the slickest thing I ever used!

Rip Tide

Reaction score
They're a crutch as far as I'm concerned, not that I have a lot of experience using them.
Tying knots is a fly fishing fundamental. No less important than casting and reading the water
If you're arthritic or have terrible eyesight, that's one thing, but tying good knots is only a matter of practice and anyone can learn to do it well with a minimal amount of effort.

The only knot tool that I actually own is the Dennison Blood Knot Tool which is usually used for tying leaders.
I can do it faster by hand.

rockriver

Reaction score
I use a part of the ink tube in a Bic Pen for nail knots. I've used similar tubes since I started tying nail knots in the 70's.

scotty macfly

Reaction score
I use the tie fast tool and I thank God for it every time I use it. It has made tying my leader to my fly line so much easier. One of my best investments on the water.

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
Just this one for nail knots.

All others are pretty easy but I struggled with nail knots for many years. A guy in a shop here gave me one of these because he felt sorry for me living in my cave. It is the slickest thing I ever used!
+1 for nail knots, all the others I can tie by hand.

weiliwen

Reaction score