What do you carry in your vest?

Supplicate

Reaction score
I was digging through my closet earlier today and found a fly rod/reel and assorted accessories that were given to me a few years ago and used once. This spurred me to join up here and try to learn more.

I have been searching for the last hour or so trying to find an answer to this, but to no avail.

So, for cold water fishing in the streams and rivers of Northern Colorado, Wyoming, and Eastern Utah what would be "required equipment" in your vest?

I currently have:
nippers on orvis retractable
three fly boxes
about a dozen flies, mostly the adams/parachute adams

Thank you.

Wyatt

Reaction score
Hello Supplicate Welcome to the family,
I'm fairly new to flyfishing so my list is still being refined but I have forceps, nippers, Loon Aquel floatant, spare leaders, 5 rolls of different tippet, 2 boxes of flys assorted for where I going ie; flys for the Poudre around Ft Collins are different then I take for some of the lakes, I also carry a small First Aid kit about the size of small fly box all in a chest pack that I can wear as a fanny pack, I also take a couple of bottles of water if I'm more then a 100 yards from the vehicle.
Wyatt

Supplicate

Reaction score
Thanks for the info Wyatt. You probably know the guys I was chatting with today down there in Ft Collins, stopped by St Peters Fly Shop for a while and asked them this exact question.

Walked out of there with a Fishpond Sagebrush vest, two dozen flies for the Reef and the Mile, nippers, tippet, leaders, and hemostats. I'm thinking along the lines of starting out simple and adding items as I learn.

I just need to find a cheaper place to buy flies now!

Wyatt

Reaction score