just wondering

catfish

Reaction score
i'm new to fly fishing any suggestions on must have flies to startout with
i live in se co. i'll b fishing the arkansas river and other waters in southern co.
i have the elk hair caddis,bwo,adams,copper johns,phesant tails and a few others i have them in size16,18 any other suggestions would sure help

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
Catfish:

I haven't fished the Ark, but I would recommend talking to one of the fly shops in the area. Depending on the season and the section of river they can give you specific patterns and sizes. When I'm travelling to new water that is what I do, I go in and introduce myself and ask what they recommend and then I buy a handfull of the flies they recommend, sure I can tie them cheaper at home, but what I'm really getting is some local expertise.
Here is one fly shop that might be of interest, if not at least they offer a hatch chart for the different sections of the Ark that will provide info on what flies might work. Fish Arkansas River in Colorado - Fly Fish River, Streams, High Mountain Lakes with ArkAnglers, the Arkansas River's premier Guide Service and Fly Shops

Another good option is to look around for a local TU chapter in your area and join and ask the members for help. They can be a valuable resource for helping you learn the art of fly fishing.

Larry

peregrines

Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator
Reaction score
Catfish,

You’ve got some great advice about the fly shop and finding a club in your area. And you’ve got a great assortment already to build on.

It can be really confusing, and intimidating for someone just starting out, and the temptation is to go out and buy everything. But the good thing about having a home water, is that you can sort of spread out your purchases a bit based on what you expect to run into on the stream.