hook size compared to hackle size

flysean

Reaction score
i am a beginner fly tyer and i need some advise the size of the hackle for instance size 18 is for size 18 hooks and size 16 is for 16 hooks or is it different.i order materials and it seems that no matter what i order is wrong even when i talk to the fly shop it happened with bead heads . if someone could help me understand hackle better i would be grateful thank you

Reaction score
another easy way to gauge the right hackle for hook is to take the hackle, pull back the barbs and measure them against the hook gap. Just a mm or so wider than he gap is the right side hackle for your hook.

flysean

Reaction score
maybe i should say when i go to buy hackle should i buy hackle to match my hook as size 18 hackle to a size 18 hook and so on

peregrines

Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator
Reaction score
Flysean,

Sorry for the late response, just saw your posts.

This FAQ might help: http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-tying-faq/119695-what-kind-hackle-should-i-get.html
It's a general discussion of different types of hackle and gives some specific recommendations based on type of fly and budget/bang for the buck.

But to answer your question yes, you'll want to get hackle that is sized properly for the hook sizes you'll be using. For dry flies, the barb length should be about 1 1/2 times the distance of the hook gap. Depending on the sizes you want to tie and your budget, there are a number of ways to go.