St petersburg/clearwater/tampa area

bigdon01

Reaction score
hey guys

Uk brah checking in here. I'm spending about a week in the St Petersburg/Clearwater area this july, never been fishing in the U.S before so should be interesting. I'm hoping to get 1 day guided/charter fly fishing for tarpoon/permit/anything that moves. Can anyone recommend a good guide that i can use in this area? Also if I were to spend another day or two or three or four or rest of the week beach fishing could anyone recommend any areas/tactics to use, complete novice when it comes to sea fishing so all advice appreciated. Also what kind of rod should i bring, I've got a 9ft #5 and 9,6ft #7 I'm guessing these are too light? Any flies I should tie up/bring? What kind of fish should I go after?

Fly fishing is preferable as I get a bit restless when doing other kinds of fishing.

thanks for any advice

Andy

dakotakid

Reaction score
Andy,

You will have a blast fishing in that area. There are many, many different options and I'll give you some based on my limited experience in the St. Pete Beach area.