Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  12

Default Cumberland Lake and River flooded.

Due to recent rains Lake Cumberland is at the highest level it has ever been.The dam at Wolf Creek has all 10 discharge gates open and today they are releasing water into the river at a rate of 60,000 feet per second.Thats enough water to fill 2 olympic size swimming pools in 3 seconds.I have never seen this river like this and i have been fishing there for over 45 yrs.The boat ramps are disappearing and parking lots are covered.Good news is we are supposed to be dry for a few days.
    Last edited by kentuckysteve; 03-10-2019 at 10:18 AM.
    -Steve

"There is no greater fan of fly fishing than the worm."-Patrick f. McManus

2. Likes karstopo, mcnerney liked this post
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Cumberland Lake and River flooded.

Wow!

Not much more to say about that Steve, wow.

Anywhere can be the land of great expectations, broken dreams, or paradise found, it's all up to you.

Life On The Line - Alaska Fishing with Ard
    Ard's Forum blog, Alaska Outdoors

4. Likes kentuckysteve liked this post
    Blog Entries

Nice drone footage. Floods are messy. Natural part of the whole system. The water doesnít look especially silt laden, but it is an interesting color. 60k cfs, 2 pools a second, those numbers I get.

Our local river goes from droughts to gigantic floods. The last massive flood last year deposited tons of silt at the local boat ramp. Had to bring in heavy equipment to remove the debris. High water run off has messed up a lot of my favorite fishing spots this winter.

It will be interesting to see the changes your flood brings.
    Wherever you go, there you are.

6. Likes kentuckysteve liked this post

Last I heard, the river was at the top of the step pools of Hatchery Creek. Did it go any further?

Haven't been back to fish there in a couple years, but it was impressive how much thought and planning had gone in to creating a thriving fishery.

- WB