Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Exclamation Rio SLick Shooter Thoughts?

I just got my Rio Scandi versitip in, and I ordered the recomended slickshooter 25, and this stuff is tiny... looks like thick mono line.. just trying to figure out how one handles such line while casting of fighting a fish, or is there a thicker option. Also, it doesnt have a loop end, suggestions on how to attach it to the loop on the shooting head would be great. or if theres a shootign line with built in loops.. sorry for being a noob. jsut want to make sure I put this together correctly. thanks.
    Mike

Default Re: Rio SLick Shooter Thoughts?

nothing... doesnt bode well for me using slickshooter..

Blog Entries

Don't despair. Someone will come along who has the answers. I have no experience with the lines you're talking about, but suspect a well tied nail knot would work connecting your pieces...I personally don't care for loop/loop connections anywhere my line can hinge while casting. -Mike

I dispise nail knots.. the slick shooter stuff is stiff line, not sure how I could tie it I do have an idea for it using the loop. I understand the hinging line issue, but it would seem that a thicker line would transfer energy, but Im a noob to this spey thing.

I use an Arflo Ridge as a running line for my heads, it actually feels like fly line and comes with a big huge loop on the end of that makes changing heads easy (You can keep them rolled up and pass the whole thing through the loop).
    I know it doesn't help with the slickshooter dilemma but I am personally not a huge fan of the stuff, I like my line to feel like a fly line.
    -Carl

Steelheader's Anonymous.

6. Likes HuronRiverDan liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by siskiyoublues View Post