OPST Commando Micro Skagit - first impressions

bloomagoo

Reaction score
Hooray! My 200 grain OPST Commando head arrive in the mail yesterday. I dipped my toe into the switch/spey world last fall and I became interested in micro skagit over the winter and finally decided it was time to put actions to my desires.

Upon opening the package my first thought was "I can't believe they get $50 for thirteen feet of PVC!" But that's not what this post is about; it's about my on the water experience today.

I started with an Okuma Helios 5/6 reel lined with Rio Slickshooter 35lb mono running line and attached that to my Sage One 864 and headed to the local trout sanctuary. After such a wet spring currents continue to run exceptionally high so I selected a 7ft type 6 polyleader, a short run of straight 2x for tippet and tied on a cone head wooly bugger.

You must understand that I am a spey novice. I have watched a LOT of Youtube videos but I don't have that many actual hours under my belt. I know the theory but the muscle memory is a work in progress. Consistency is still an issue but boy, when you have it dialed in, this package can SHOOT! Tomorrow I hope to get it onto some still water for more practice.

One final thought, this was also only my second time out using a mono running line. I must say that, while it takes some getting used to, it is remarkably easy to manage. And the feel of the entire package is so very different from standard fly line. I used to watch the Reds Fly Shop videos and wonder how Joe was able to feel when his fly was ticking bottom. Today I felt my cone head wooly ticking off the rocks. Really cool!

mjkirshner

Reaction score