Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  21
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Default Help with trout Spey Skagit Setup

I want to make spey casts for swinging streamers through the deeper longer runs of my local rivers (San Juan, Animas, Rio Grande, etc. I currently do it with a single handed 6/7 weight with a short intermediate sink tip line (6-8 ft). I picked up a 12ft 2/3 im6 blank from anglers roost and will be building that shortly. The streamers I tie and use usually have some sort of weight to them, cone head, a few lead wraps, etc.

A bargain online website has 11' Rio Trout Max Skagit heads on sale for $29. It seams to me that the 250 grain would be a good place to start.

Now im looking at different tips that would fit the bill for to get my flies down in the water column a little. MOW tips? Am I on the right track here?

What about running line?

Im completely new to this and dont know anyone that does it around here. I appreciate your help.

2. Likes unknownflyman liked this post

Default Re: Help with trout Spey Skagit Setup

Sure as long as you are ordering the head rated for your single hand rod you will be fine. Every line manufacturer has suggested mow tip size for the grain line you are using.

I personally use another brand but itís all based on the same concept.

Please keep in mind there are limits to the payload any line will carry and there is a lot of refining after you get some time on the water.

This whole spey single and two handed thing lends to some improvements and line and tip adjustments down the road as needed for the size of fly, conditions present and desired approach to presenting a fly.

The important thing is to start with the suggested line and tips for the fly fishing you want to do unless itís entirely unusable you will adjust and figure out more down the road.