Skagit, Scandi, various bellies..Sorting it all out for the beginner

City Rat

Reaction score
Streams in the GWNF, SNP,Potomac, Rappahanock and
So I just got back from a quick trip to PNW for family stuff and got in a day of fly fishing for steelhead on the Cowlitz River, a trib of the Columbia, in Washington. I had planned on single handing with my 8wt but my guide convinced me to try something new, spey casting for steelies. I jumped on the chance to learn to spey cast in PNW. I later found out that I had been Snap T casting the entire day, who knew. I tried to do research into the tackle, specifically the lines, based on what the guide explained we were working with. What a rat's nest of gobbldy gook for anyone not deeply in the spey world to deal with. As such I thought that I'd offer a couple of links to some very clear explanations of the various types of lines, the pros and cons of each and situations for best use. I am a newbie to fly fishing and an actual newborn babe to this spey jazz so I offer these links for my brother babes in the woods who are just trying to find their way around. I chose them because they were really clear, concise and understandable explanations. I assume that there are others as well, my bet there are books and treatises. This thread is not an attempt to replicate the books just to give new guys a foothold into all of this. Others who know of links to other clear, concise and simple explanations like what is in these links should feel free to post those links up here as well. Perhaps we might end up with a thread that new people can go to to get the basics on spey tackle. Thanks.

Demystifying Spey Part 1: Lines - Skagit vs Scandi Heads — River Salt Outfitters - Olympic Peninsula Fly Fishing Guides

Demystifying Spey Part 2: Tips and Leaders — River Salt Outfitters - Olympic Peninsula Fly Fishing Guides

Demystifying Spey Part 3: Shooting/Running Lines — River Salt Outfitters - Olympic Peninsula Fly Fishing Guides