Which switch rod?

njflyfisher

Reaction score
Whelp haven't been on this forum in years but remembered always learning helpful info on here.
I've been fishing for steelhead in the salmon river NY for about 7/8 years now and I think its finally time to upgrade to a switch rod. I'm looking for a entry level rod. I've been looking at the redington dually and i think it would suit my needs. Any other recommendations from you guys. Also what weight should I be looking at. I was thinking 11'6" 7wt. I think it would be ideal for steelhead. But how would this rod handle salmon(kings, coho). And if i were to get the redingotn dually what are some line recommendations. I mostly fish egg patterns. But last year I finally got steel on the swing and I loved it that why I would love a switch rod. 80 percent of my fishing would be drifting egg patterns and 20 would be swinging flies.THANKS ALOT!! Looking forward to answers.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi,

Last year I had a fellow out who had a brand new Redington Switch in #7 I believe it was. He had no line for it yet but I thought I had some that would work. I put one of my reels on with a Beulah Elixir 475 full integrated line and it worked great. For reference those lines have a 37 foot head and are 120 long. The length of the head worked well even for a guy who had never made a Spey style cast before.

About the rod...….My only complaint was that they didn't provide much in the way of a bottom cork / grip. I've found the same thing on much higher priced Hardy Zephrus switch rods too so it seem to be a trend. Other than the bottom cork the rod was fine, you can snap T a 60 foot cast with the line I had on it with ease.

Handling big fish? I managed to drag in a 50 pound king a few years ago using an 11 1/2 foot seven weight Hardy Swift. That rod does have a standard Spey rod lower grip which helped with levering the rod against my hip as this ordeal dragged on for a while.