The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > >

Spey Rods and Switch Rods - Fly Fishing Tackle Talk! Discuss all the latest Spey and Switch fly rods and double handed fly fishing rods here.

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  32
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Old 11-05-2016, 12:08 PM

fenix84 is just really nicefenix84 is just really nicefenix84 is just really nicefenix84 is just really nice
Default Single-hand spey questions

I apologize for the redundant post but had a couple of questions and was having a hard time finding specific answers.

1. What do you look for when single-hand spey rod? a slow rod? a fast rod? ultra fast rod? how about the length? is a longer rod better?

2. Spey lines, can someone describe the line set up and how its different from a conventional WF or DT line? Do i need a special type of line to do the various spey casts?

Sorry complete noob here.
Old 11-05-2016, 01:00 PM

dillon has much to be proud ofdillon has much to be proud ofdillon has much to be proud ofdillon has much to be proud ofdillon has much to be proud ofdillon has much to be proud ofdillon has much to be proud ofdillon has much to be proud ofdillon has much to be proud of
Default Re: Single-hand spey questions

"What do you look for when single-hand spey rod?"

In don't believe there are any spey rods designed for single hand casting. Spey rods are for two handed casting. So, I assume you meant what is a good single hand rod for spey casting. Single hand rods go to around 10 ft. in length. Switch rods are from about 10.5 to 11.5 feet in length. Anything over 12ft. is considered a spey rod.

A switch rod is designed to be cast either with one or two hands. So, the line can be aereolized with a single hand overhead cast. Depending on the size of the water and fish you may want to consider a switch rod. If used on a very small streams then perhaps a single hander of 9-10 ft. would be the best choice.