Single-hand spey questions

fenix84

Reaction score
I apologize for the redundant post but had a couple of questions and was having a hard time finding specific answers.

1. What do you look for when single-hand spey rod? a slow rod? a fast rod? ultra fast rod? how about the length? is a longer rod better?

2. Spey lines, can someone describe the line set up and how its different from a conventional WF or DT line? Do i need a special type of line to do the various spey casts?

Sorry complete noob here.

dillon

Reaction score
"What do you look for when single-hand spey rod?"

In don't believe there are any spey rods designed for single hand casting. Spey rods are for two handed casting. So, I assume you meant what is a good single hand rod for spey casting. Single hand rods go to around 10 ft. in length. Switch rods are from about 10.5 to 11.5 feet in length. Anything over 12ft. is considered a spey rod.

A switch rod is designed to be cast either with one or two hands. So, the line can be aereolized with a single hand overhead cast. Depending on the size of the water and fish you may want to consider a switch rod. If used on a very small streams then perhaps a single hander of 9-10 ft. would be the best choice.

Spey lines have evolved a great deal in the decade. Double taper lines work well for single hand casting. And it is said that the wollf triangle taper is a good one.

Most people are using a shooting head system for switch and spey rods. This is made up of 20-30 ft head. With a 8-15ft sink tip or long mono leader added to the front end. Looped on to the back end of the head is around 100ft of running line. Then enough dacron backing line to fill the reel, is attached to the end of the running line. Preferably, over 100 yards of backing.